How to Unsend a Message on iPhone?

When sending a text message on iPhone, you might sometimes get anxious by mistake when typing it. The iPhone offers a way to unsend the message. We’ll show you two methods to do this.

Have you ever sent a message by mistake? For example, you sent a message to your boss. You thought that you haven’t pressed the “Send” button. So you hurried to click “Undo” but it was too late. Your message was already sent.

Is it possible to unsend a message on iPhone?

No, it’s impossible to unsend a message on iPhone. But you can delete the sent message on iPhone and iPad, and also unsend the sent message on Mac.

Apple’s introduction of the unsend feature in iOS 11.3 has been a long time coming, and it’s also been met with a lot of confusion.

While the feature definitely comes in handy for any number of situations, there are a few limitations that users should be aware of before they send an email they may regret.

Recently, a thread on Reddit went viral as people could not understand how they could go back on their messages and unsend them. First of all, let me say that this is not possible in the way it’s imagined by many people.

So, you can’t unsend a message that you’ve already sent. It is there to protect your account from being hacked.

Why can’t we unsend a message on iPhone?

Apple makes iPhone more secure than other smartphones. For example, the device uses the Secure Enclave to prevent hackers from accessing your data. This is a security feature that prevents your data from being stolen.

So, it’s impossible to unsend a message on iPhone.

What are the reasons that we need to unsend a message on iPhone?

As a result of the study, most of the users delete messages for a few reasons. Some of the reasons are:

  • We are angry with someone and want to unsend a message.
  • We are not interested in receiving messages from the person.
  • We want to change your mind about a conversation.
  • We want to delete a message you sent to yourself.
  • We want to delete a message sent to someone who has blocked you.
  • We want to delete a message that you have already sent. 

Conclusion

Sometimes, it happens that we send a message to the wrong person. There are lots of other reasons behind this such as accidental pressing, phone shaking, and so on.

Now, you might have fear due to this message as it is sent to your boss or your secret lover, or anyone in your contact list. At that time, you have only one option i.e. to unsend that message because if you will not unsend then you have no chance to recover the message.

I hope this article will help you to know about the “unsend” feature on iPhone. If you have any queries regarding this article, you can leave a comment in the comment box. Have a nice day.

FAQs

Q. Can I unsend a message that I have sent to someone?

Yes, you can unsend a message that you have sent to someone. If you have sent a message to someone, then you can use the “Send Later” option to send it later.

Q. Can I unsend a message that I have sent to myself?

Yes, you can unsend a message that you have sent to yourself.

Q. Can I unsend a message that I have sent to someone who has blocked me?

Yes, you can unsend a message that you have sent to someone who has blocked you.

Leave a Comment